Researchers in the Network

The Environmental Research Network (ERN) has by now pooled more than 230 member scientists from the University of Vienna, conducting relevant environmental research at 15 out of 20 faculties and centers of the University of Vienna as well as in inter-faculty initiatives.

It is open to environmental researchers of all disciplines and levels at the University of Vienna.

Researcher's hand writing chemical formula on glas wall

Copyright: Universität Wien/

Business, Economics, and Statistics

Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Karl Franz Dörner, Privatdoz.
emer. o. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Georg Pflug
ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Marion Rauner
emer. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Franz Wirl


Ass.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Dieter Baurecht
Assoz. Prof. Jia Min Chin, PhD
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Leticia Gonzalez Herrero
Mag. Dr. Franz Jirsa, Privatdoz.
o. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr. Bernhard Keppler
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Freddy Kleitz
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gunda Köllensperger
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Peter Lieberzeit
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Doris Marko
Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. Andreas Mautner, Privatdoz.
Dr. Katharina Pallitsch, Bakk. MSc
Dipl.-Ing. Evelyn Rampler, Privatdoz. Bakk. PhD
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Annette Rompel
Clara-Magdalena Saak, BSc MSc PhD
Dr. Harald Schöny, BSc. MSc
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Veronika Somoza
ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Gabriele Wallner
Assoz. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Benedikt Warth, Bakk.

Earth Sciences, Geography, and Astronomy

Pamela Alessandra Baur, B.Sc. M.Sc.
Mag. Michael Blaschek, PhD
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Götz Bokelmann
Dr. Marion Borderon, MSc
Dott. ric. Silvia Bucci
Dr. Tamara Dordevic, Privatdoz.
Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Manfred Dorninger
Mag. Dr. Erich Draganits, Privatdoz.
Mag. Dr. Yvonne Franz
ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Susanne Gier
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Geogr. Dr. Thomas Glade
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Geogr. Dr. Stephan Glatzel
Mag. Dr. Elisabeth Gruber
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Leopold Haimberger
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Petra Heinz
Dipl.-Geogr. Dr. Sabine Kraushaar
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Kerstin Krellenberg
Dr. Philipp Marr, B.Sc. M.Sc.
Dr. Patrick Meister, Privatdoz.
Raphael Müller, BSc MSc
Dr. Tobias Necker, M.Sc.
Mag. Dr. Ronald Pöppl, BA
Dr. Anna Rogowitz, MSc
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Geogr. Dr. Patrick Sakdapolrak, MA
Ass.-Prof. Dr. Leyla Jean Seyfullah, Privatdoz. BSc MSc
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Andreas Stohl
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Aiko Voigt
Martin Vojta, BSc MSc
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Michael Wagreich
Dr. Stefan Wallner, BSc MSc
Ass.-Prof. Dr. Chi Zhang
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Martin Zuschin

Historical and Cultural Studies

Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Michael Doneus
Dr. Christian Elster, M.A.
Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Alexandra Krenn-Leeb
Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Marta Luciani, Privatdoz.


Dott. mag. Dr. Atakan Aral
Univ.-Prof. Torsten Möller, PhD


Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Daniel Ennöckl, Privatdoz. LL.M.
ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Christian Piska
Further members:

Life Sciences

Univ.-Prof. Federico Baltar Gonzalez, BSc MSc PhD
Gianluca Bello, PhD
Johannes Maximilian Braunisch, BSc MSc
Florian Danzinger, BSc M.Sc.
Dr. Renate Degen
Ass.-Prof. Aikaterini Douka
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Stefan Dullinger
Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Franz Essl
Dr. Eduard Fadeev, B.Sc. M.Sc.
Michael Glaser, MSc
Mag. Dr. Brigitte Gottsberger
ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Irmgard Greilhuber
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerhard Herndl
Johannes Herpell, MSc.
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Higham
Mag. Dr. Karl Hülber
Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Verena Ibl, Privatdoz.
Mildred Jessica Johnson, B.Sc. M.Sc.
Melina Kerou, PhD
Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Johannes Kirchmair
ao. Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Ingeborg Lang, Privatdoz.
Bernd Lenzner, BSc MSc PhD
Dr. Harald Letsch
Mag. Dr. Bea Maas
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Mihaela Pavlicev
Mag. Dr. Thomas Reinthaler
Mag. Mag. Dr.techn. Simon Karl-Maria Rasso Rittmann, Privatdoz. Bakk.
Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Petra Rust
Anna Schertler, BSc MSc.
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Biol. Dr. Christa Schleper
Angelika Schwarzhans, BSc MSc
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jürg Schönenberger
Mag. Philipp Semenchuk, PhD
Assoz. Prof. Dr. Oleg Simakov
Dipl.-Chem. Dr. Markus Teige
Ass.-Prof. DI Dr. -Ing. Steffen Waldherr
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Wolfgang Wanek
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Wolfram Weckwerth
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Biol. Dr. Stefanie Wienkoop, Privatdoz.
ao. Univ.-Prof. Dr. Harald Wilfing
Mag. Dr. Wolfgang Willner, Privatdoz.
Mag. Lukas Wimmer
Ass.-Prof. Dr. Thomas Wrbka


Dr. Anna Breger, BSc M.SC.
Paolo Piovano, Privatdoz. PhD

Microbiology and Environmental Systems Science

Barbara Bayer, BSc MSc PhD
Kyle Chardi, BSc MEng.
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Biol. Dr. Holger Daims
Stephanie Eichorst, PhD
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thilo Hofmann
Dipl.-Biol. Dr. Astrid Horn
Dr. Thorsten Hüffer, MSc
Richard Kimber, PhD
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Geol. Dr. Stephan Krämer
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Biol. Dr. Alexander Loy
Assoz. Prof. Dr. Jillian Petersen
Dr. Petra Pjevac
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andreas Richter
Benjamin Robert Roller, PhD
Dr. Hannes Schmidt
Lorenz Schwab, B.Sc. M.Sc.
Christopher Sedlacek, BSc. PhD
Dr. Gabriel Sigmund, MSc
Nataliia Solntseva, BSc MSc
Dipl.-Geol. Nathalie Tepe-Viehmann, PhD
Margaret Vogel, B.Sc. Ph.D.
Dr. Frank von der Kammer, M.A.
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Michael Wagner
Assoz. Prof. Dr. Dagmar Wöbken
Dipl.-Ing. Cathrine Zaknun

Philological and Cultural Studies

Lic. Dr. Javier Bru-Peral
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Lars Bülow
Ass.-Prof. Dr. Jeanine Dagyeli
Dr. Paul Fagan, M.A.
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Alexandra Ganser-Blumenau
Univ.-Prof. Dr. habil. Eva Horn
Onur Inal, BA MA PhD
Dr. Tatiana Konrad, MA
Mag. Dr. Isabel Kranz
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Yavuz Köse
Florian Purkarthofer, BA MA
Mag. Mag. Dr. Sonja Schreiner
Mag. Dr. Dr. habil. Stefan Tigges
Mag. Dr. Walter Wagner, Privatdoz.
Univ.-Prof. i.R. Mag. Dr. Susanne Weigelin-Schwiedrzik
Dr. Marta Werbanowska
Dr. Petra Weschenfelder, M.A.
Esther Zitterl, BA BA BEd

Philolosophy and Education

Dr. Dr. Madalina Diaconu, Privatdoz. MA
Ralf Gisinger, Bakk. BA MA
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Angela Kallhoff
Dr. Seyda Subasi Singh, BA MSc


Mag. Dr. Julia Burkart
Mag. Peter Cengeri
Clara Conrad-Billroth, BSc MSc
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Robin Golser
Dr. Karin Hain
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Regina Hitzenberger
Ass.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Peter Steier
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bernadett Weinzierl
Assoz. Prof. Dr. Paul Winkler, Privatdoz.


Maja Grünzner, MSc
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Claus Lamm
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Urs Markus Nater
Rosa Rie Nijssen, BA MSc
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Psych. Sabine Pahl, MSc PhD
Ekaterina Pronizius, BSc MSc
Eva Straus, B.Sc. M.Sc.
Boryana Todorova, BSc MSc
Mathew White, BSc MSc PhD

Social Sciences

Mag. Dr. Alina Brad
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Bw. Dr. Ulrich Brand
Dott. Dott. mag. Giorgio Brocco
Dr. Henning Deters
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ulrike Felt
Univ.-Prof. Yuri Albert Kyrill Kazepov, PhD
Dipl.-Ing. Bettina Köhler
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Jörg Matthes
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Janina Meillan-Kehr
Alexandra Meyer, BA MA
Mag. Dr. Herta Nöbauer
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Schweitzer
Martin Thalhammer, BSc BA MSc MA
Lic. Jenny Marcela Torres Heredia, MA MA
Assoz. Prof. Mag. Dr. Alice Vadrot
Mgr. Virdzhiniia Vargolskaia

Teacher Education and Didactics of Natural Sciences

Mag. Petra Bezeljak
Dr. Angela Forstner-Ebhart, M.Ed.
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Anja Lembens
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andrea Möller
Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Eva Vetter